Colorado Avalanche Ranks Low in THN Fan Suffering Index

5 of 8

Jun 24, 2014; Las Vegas, NV, USA; Calder Trophy winner Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche poses with the trophy during the 2014 NHL Awards ceremony at Wynn Las Vegas. Mandatory Credit: Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports

Individual Awards

When it comes to awards, we already know that the Avalanche can’t be that bad. This is only about individual awards, but we know that players like Joe Sakic and Peter Forsberg used to play in Quebec and Denver. Plus, the 2013-14 Central Division winning season brought some individual awards with it.

More from Avalanche News

Here, franchises were ranked by awards per season. In first place (fewest awards won), obviously, the Nashville Predators. They wouldn’t be able to fill a single skate with their awards because, well, they have never won one in their 16-year club history. Filip Forsberg was the Calder Trophy favorite for most of last season, but didn’t even make the three finalists in the end.

First are the Boston Bruins with 1.06 awards per season — which makes a total of 50 awards in the last 47 seasons. Who would have won that many awards? Well, a man named Bobby Orr and a former Avalanche named Ray Bourque combined for 13 Norris Trophies. So there’s that.

The Colorado Avalanche may have had some NHL legends over the years, and also won three awards a year ago. But overall, they are just in the middle of the pack. A grand total of 13 awards over 35 seasons brings them to 0.37 awards per season and a 20th rank.

Next: Overtimes