Jun 24, 2014; Las Vegas, NV, USA; Colorado Avalanche head coach Patrick Roy (center) poses for photographers with his sons Jonathan Roy (left) and Frederik Roy on the red carpet of the 2014 NHL Awards ceremony at Wynn Las Vegas. Mandatory Credit: Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports

Colorado Avalanche win three out of four NHL Awards

It wasn’t quite a clean sweep, but it was a hat trick for the Colorado Avalanche at the 2014 NHL Awards. Nathan MacKinnon, Patrick Roy, and Ryan O’Reilly added some hardware to their trophy case at the NHL’s annual awards event on Tuesday night. MacKinnon took home the Calder Trophy as the league’s top rookie, Roy nabbed the Jack Adams Award as the league’s top coach, and Ryan O’Reilly accepted the Lady Byng Award as the league’s most gentlemanly player. Avalanche goalie Semyon Varlamov, nominated for the Vezina Trophy as the league’s top goalie, finished second to winner Tuukka Rask of the Boston Bruins.

The #1 overall pick in 2013, MacKinnon was the runaway winner for the Calder Trophy, finishing with 130 first place votes on 137 ballots. MacKinnon is the second Avalanche player in three years to take home the Calder Trophy, joining Gabriel Landeskog who won the year two years ago. He’s the fourth Avalanche player in team history to win the award joining Landeskog, Chris Drury, and Peter Forsberg (who won the award as part of the Quebec Nordiques). At 18-years old, MacKinnon also becomes the youngest player to ever win the award.

For Patrick Roy, an already full trophy case just got a little tighter. Recieving 68 out of 95 first place votes, Roy will add the Jack Adams Award to his list of accomplishments that already includes four Stanley Cups, three Conn Smyth trophies, three Vezina awards, and a number of other hockey awards. Roy is the first Colorado Avalanche coach in history to win the award, doing so in his first NHL season behind the bench.

Like MacKinnon, Ryan O’Reilly ran away with the Lady Byng. The Avalanche forward received 110 out of 137 first place votes, easily beating out runner-up and three time award winner Martin St. Louis. O’Reilly is the second ever Avalanche player to win the award. The other was Joe Sakic in 2001.

The big award on the night for Avalanche fans was the Vezina trophy. MacKinnon and O’Reilly were mortal locks to win their respective awards and Roy was a near lock, but Varlamov entered the Vezina race in a deadlock with Tuukka Rask. Unfortunately for Varlamov and Avalanche fans, Rask captured the award with 16 out of 30 first place votes and 103 points. Varlamov finished a close second, ending with 90 points but only nine first place votes.

Despite just missing a perfect award show, the Avalanche organization had a very good night to cap off a very good season. Now the focus shifts to next year. As Patrick Roy said during his acceptance speech, “see you in the fall.”

Here is the complete list of winners:

Ted Lindsay Award – Sidney Crosby

Frank J. Selke Trophy – Patrice Bergerson

Bill Masterson Memorial Trophy – Dominic Moore

Calder Memorial Trophy – Nathan MacKinnon

Art Ross Trophy – Sidney Crosby

Maurice Richard Trophy – Alexander Ovechkin

King Clancy Memorial Trophy – Andrew Ference

NHL Foundation Player Award – Patrice Bergeron

Mark Messier Leadership Award – Dustin Brown

James Norris Memorial Trophy – Duncan Keith

Jack Adams Award – Patrick Roy

William M. Jennings Trophy – Jonathan Quick

Lady Byng Memorial Trophy – Ryan O’Reilly

General Manager of the Year – Bob Murray

Vezina Trophy – Tuukka Rask

Hart Memorial Trophy – Sidney Crosby

Next Avalanche Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 11 Nov7:00at St. Louis BluesBuy Tickets

Tags: Colorado Avalanche Nathan MacKinnon Patrick Roy Ryan O'Reilly Semyon Varlamov

comments powered by Disqus